Home Penny blacks Announcement of nominees for Player(s) of the Year

Announcement of nominees for Player(s) of the Year


The squad has four capped players –Robert Baloucoune (2 caps), Caolin Blade (1 cap), Shane Daly (2 caps) and Max Degan (1 selection) – and three players who faced the Māori All Blacks during the summer: Ciaran Frawley, Joe McCarthy and Cian Prendergast.

Jamie Osborne and Tom Ahern both trained with the senior Ireland team as development players.

Eight players featured in the Ireland U20 squad that won a Six Nations Grand Slam in 2019 – Tom Clarkson, Brian Deeny, Jake Flannery, John Hodnett, Michael Milne, Scott Penny, Callum Reid and Dylan Tierney-Martin.

Six Nations U20 Grand Slam winners 2022 James Culhane and Chay Mullins are included. James was named U20 Player of the Tournament while Chay won a bronze medal at the Rugby Sevens World Cup in Cape Town.

Andre Smith also played for Ireland 7s last weekend in the Rugby 7s World Cup in South Africa. The former Ireland U20 has played in seven World Series tournaments and won an Energia AIL title with Clontarf this year.

Ireland’s Andrew Smith in action during the Rugby 7s World Cup in Cape Town Mandatory Credit ©INPHO/Travis Prior

David NuciforaIrfu’s performance director, said:

“This tour to emerging Ireland is of vital strategic importance in a Rugby World Cup year. It will put a bit of a strain on our player resources, but it will provide an opportunity for emerging talent to impress national coaches. at the start of a World Cup season.As these players return to their provinces, their progress can be monitored and supported so that they continue to be part of the national team image.

The three games in Bloemfontein and the game against the All Blacks XV in Dublin offer an incredible opportunity for these players to gain experience in the national environment and to gain a place in the thinking of the coaches for the season in come.

Andy Farrell, Ireland head coach, commented: “This opportunity provides another window for players to develop and show that they can thrive in the intensity of a home environment. It will be exciting to see which players step up and get in the frame for another opportunity to impress in November.

“For some players it’s an opportunity to build on what they’ve already learned at national camp and take their development to the next level, for others it’s a first chance to show coaches nationals what they do and what they can offer.”

Simon EasterbyEmerging Ireland head coach said: “The coaching staff are really delighted to be working with this team and expanding the selection pool for the national team.

“We will look to replicate the national team environment and training intensity, so players have a good understanding of what it takes to perform at the highest level. Players will need to adapt to the tactical and technical approach of the national team in a very short period of time and coping with the pressure of playing in a green jersey.

Emerging Ireland Team – Toyota Challenge 2022

Back (15)

Robert Baloucoune (Ulster/Enniskillen)*
Caolin Blade (Connacht/Galwegians)*
Jack Crowley (Munster/Cork Constitution)
Shane Daly (Munster/Cork Constitution)*
Nathan Doak (Ulster/Banbridge)
Jake Flannery (Ulster/Shannon)
Antoine Frisch (Munster)
Ciaran Frawley (Leinster/UCD)
Michael McDonald (Ulster)
Ethan McIlroy (Ulster/Queens RFC)
Stewart Moore (Ulster/Malone)
Chay Mullins (Connacht/IQ Rugby)
Calvin Nash (Munster/Young Munster)
Jamie Osbourne (Leinster/Naas)
Andrew Smith (Leinster/Clontarf)

Forwards (20)

Tom Ahern (Munster/Shannon)
Diarmuid Barron (Munster/Garryowen)
Tom Clarkson (Leinster/University of Dublin)
James Culhane (Leinster/UCD)
Max Deegan (Leinster/Lansdowne)*
Brian Deeny (Leinster/Clontarf)
John Hodnett (Munster/UCC)
Sam Illo (Connacht)
Cormac Izuchukwu (Ulster/Ballynahinch)
Alex Kendellen (Munster/UCC)
Joe McCarthy (Leinster/University of Dublin)
Michael Milne (Leinster/UCD)
Scott Penny (Leinster/UCD)
Cian Prendergast (Connacht)
Callum Reid (Ulster/Banbridge)
Roman Salonoa (Munster/Shannon)
Alex Soroka (Leinster/Clontarf)
Tom Stewart (Ulster/Ballynahinch)
Dylan Tierney-Martin (Connacht/Corinthians)
Josh Wycherley (Munster/Young Munster)

* Capped for Ireland

Emerging Ireland Toyota Challenge Calendar 2022

Windhoek Draft Griquas vs Emerging Ireland
Toyota Stadium, Bloemfontein, South Africa
Friday 30th September 2022, KO 12.45pm (Irish time)

Airlink Pumas vs Emerging Ireland
Toyota Stadium, Bloemfontein, South Africa
Wednesday 5th October 2022, KO 4.00pm (Irish time)

Toyota Cheetahs vs Emerging Ireland
Toyota Stadium, Bloemfontein, South Africa
Sunday October 9, 2022, KO 12:00 (Irish time)

Previous story World Cup Dream Team honors for McNulty and Kennedy